Festival of Folk Arts

I know, I know what you’re thinking. Another festival?! Really?! This is what, your fourth festival this year? Well don’t worry, the Festival of Folk Arts is not that kind of festival. In fact, it’s more of a fair, where people sell their handmade goods for a twice the price they’re worth, and none of it is even useful but you still spend all your cash anyway. You can get anything from hand-woven baskets to iron roses that are hammered in front of you to jellyfish magnets. And when it comes to jellyfish magnets, you know that the previous year you bought that exact magnet from that exact guy, except that time it portrayed a frog. And then you think more about it and decide your frog needs company and anyways, you’re a returning customer so you get a discount, so you buy the jellyfish. That simple. But hey, on the bright side you get to support local businesses!! 🙌

Say whatever you want, that jellyfish is adorable.

So wait, now you might ask “Layra, why do you keep going there if it’s so pointless?” Well my friends, because it’s kind of a tradition, and I’ve been going ever since I remember. Missing even one single year is not an option. Of course when I was a kid, I enjoyed it so much and wanted to buy everything and went hysterical when my grandma refused to buy me kürtőskalács, and now I walk around going like “Yes, this would be a nice souvenir if I were a tourist, but I’m not and everything’s so expensive and I’ve already spent all my money on kürtőskalács, because now I get to buy my own and ugh.” But it’s still nice. I even found a hat I liked, since that was my main mission this time, but then it turned out to be about $80 and I sadly gave up on my dreams.

See? It’s a different kind of festival. A one for minors and senior citizens.

Also, the whole festival/fair is located in the castle, which is probably one of the main attractions of Hungary, and even through I go there at least three times a year (which means I’ve been there 54 times already), I still find it surprisingly beautiful. The view is also unsurpassed, at least by Hungarian standards, and as I happened to discover that my new camera has special effects right there today, I was experimenting with those.

Now I know how people take their really cool photos. It’s just the filters and effects.
This shall be my new Facebook profile picture.

Oh, and this is mostly off topic, but on our way there, as we were waiting for the tram, I saw a dead pigeon:

WARNING, GRAPHIC CONTENT AND I’M NOT EVEN KIDDING!!
.
.
.
Just thought I’d show you.

Leave a comment